Contest Close

Previous SOCAN Songwriting Prize nominees and winners

The SOCAN Songwriting Prize has featured the music of some of Canada’s top emerging songwriters since the first competition in 2006.

The Winner

Billy Raffoul
"Western Skies"
Written by:
Billy Raffoul
Performed by:
Billy Raffoul
Published by:
Warner Chappell Music Canada

List of Nominees

“Black Woman”
Written by Emanuel Assefa, Ryan Bakalarczyk, John Fellner, Kardinal Offishall / Performed by Emanuel / Kardinal Offishall Published by BMG Rights Management Canada.
“Dancing In My Room”
Written by Carter Britz, Aidan Fuller / Performed by 347aidan / Published by Kobalt Music Publishing Canada.
Written by Jonah Yano, Schott Zhang/ Performed by Jonah Yano.
Written by Clairmont Humphrey II / Performed by Clairmont The Second.
“Frontin’ Like Pharrell”
Written by Kahdijah Payne/ Performed by DijahSB.
Written by Michael Brandolino, Alexander DiMauro, Karah McGillivray, Tom Peyton, Robert Sowinski / Performed by Valley.
“No Smoke”
Written by Vanessa Kalala, David Charles Fischer, Christopher Larocca, Hrag Sanbalian / Performed by LU KALA.
“Purple Carousel”
Written by Sydanie Nichol, Casey Manierka / Performed by Sydanie.
Written by Savannah Ré Simpson, Johann Deterville, Akeel Henry / Performed by Savannah Ré / Savannah Ré published by Sony Music Publishing